the push to 26.2 miles….week three

Posted on August 23, 2011

2


My goal…8.75 miles total, the actual 9.21

I spent one hour and forty-seven mins and thirty-one seconds on  the road. I averaged 11:37 seconds per mile. A little slower than last week, and I’m not going to lie, I am VERY goal oriented, not thrilled about that, but it is still early yet in the process.

I burnt a total of 1,289 calories only an increase of 17 calories over last week, which is probably due in part to my slower pace. I have found the calories burnt is very closely related to how fast you run…or slow.

My goal for this coming week is 9.25 miles. it will be a challenge. Going to essentially be on vacation all weekend, between my cousin Rachel’s wedding and celebrating my sixth wedding anniversary. I have every intention of finding somewhere to run.

My running regimen is not without fault. I was wanting to start working on hills and speed this month. I skipped a hill workout two weeks ago, I run, just not on hills. I just now skipped a speed workout, i ran, just no focus on speed. I THINK i have talked myself into waiting at least two or three months to build a somewhat solid base of miles before is start messing with technique.

I am not working out either….AT ALL. I am disappointed in my self. No crunches, not push ups, no nothing. I am going to try to real hard to get my act together next week after i get home. My motel should have exercise room, maybe i will start this weekend even, and then again maybe just next week.

Hebrews 12:1 ¶ Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset [us], and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,

Hebrews 12:2 Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of [our] faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

How about some spiritual application. I just finished my fifteenth run. I have discovered a couple of things.

One: you need what I will call a distraction. When physically running, I have found that music help, and it helps a lot. It gives you something to think about other than your feet pounding the pavement and your breath coming in horrible gasping, ragged breaths. It helps to just think about the music, to think about the song.

Isnt’t the application clear?? When running spiritually the race that is set before us, we must ensure that we are looking unto Jesus. There has to be someone who is taking our minds eye off of the life we find ourselves in sometimes. Because just like a run, life will not always be easy. If we are not focused on the reason for our running, we may likely quit. And we cant quit. I can quit running in life and it wont matter. If i quit running spiritually the effects could be eternal.

Secondly: Don’t stop for a break. It has been four or five runs since I have had to stop and walk (on my longer runs on Saturday, I walk just long enough to take a swallow of water every mile or so, and then I start-up again). When I was stopping running, to essentially take a break, it was near impossible to start back running with any conviction. If I ran half of my run without stopping and took a break at the halfway point. I would be doing good to run even half of the way back.

The application??? If you stop running your race you run the risk of not starting up again. If you NEVER stop running to begin with, you NEVER have to start running again. If you never stop running to begin with you will never completely stop. That my sound overly simplistic but think about it. Let’s break it down into categories.

Running – Jogging – Walking – Stopping

You can never get from the first to the last without stopping the first initially. Just don’t quit running your race, and you will never have to worry about stopping entirely.

It will be much harder to start again, no matter how hard it is to keep going now….

Posted in: Exercise, Spiritual