Bill Gates is not KJVO……

Posted on November 1, 2011

5


Writing……

Writing is the representation of language in a textual medium through the use of a set of signs or symbols (known as a writing system). It is distinguished from illustration, such as cave drawing and painting, and non-symbolic preservation of language via non-textual media, such as magnetic tape audio.

Writing most likely began as a consequence of political expansion in ancient cultures, which needed reliable means for transmitting information, maintaining financial accounts, keeping historical records, and similar activities. Around the 4th millennium BC, the complexity of trade and administration outgrew the power of memory, and writing became a more dependable method of recording and presenting transactions in a permanent form.  In both Ancient Egypt and Mesoamerica writing may have evolved through calendrics and a political necessity for recording historical and environmental events.

We are losing the art of writing I think in our tech heavy lives.

I considered this in regards to myself. I don’t do very much actual writing. Very little indeed. I think nobody does.

What is the cause for this?

Facebook

Twitter

Texting

I have fallen prey to this, and I don’t like it.

I text….I think I text a lot. A couple thousand a month. If you want my number, I’ll text you too….probably. What is the average length of a text? A couple words….on occasion MAYBE a couple of sentences? Not real conducive to actual literary ability.

Facebook??? One line zingers….by and large. In fact, it used to not let you use over 400 words in a single post. (That restriction may have been removed, I’m to lazy to check it out). Facebook, witty banter….no substance. I’m not saying it is wrong, per se. I am just pointing out what I perceive to be a reality.

Twitter??? Limited to like a very few characters. Most bible verses wont even fit without being abbreviate….I know, because I have tried. I consequently don’t use twitter hardly ever….

I study for messages and lessons every week. But it is primarily choppy sentence fragments that I use, simply in order to move a thought process along. And anyone that thinks i preach in choppy fragments….keep it to yourself.

Not really conducive to great literary achievements. I have been trying really hard to make more of an effort on my introductions and conclusions to messages. Just to type out a coherent thought process.

So, what about Bill Gates? His spell checker in Microsoft Word. It doesn’t like the KJV. I quit spell checking my sermons, because I got tired of ignoring 99% of the ‘problems’ that it found. Therefore reducing my literary prowness, because now I don’t even know it when I use an incorrect verb tense.

When is the last time anyone actually WROTE something, you know, with like a pen a lined paper. And i don’t mean a phone number or quick to do list. Actually wrote something. Another curse of social media is the complete loss, it seems at times, of the ability to spell. everything is abbreviated and shortened. My wife has pretty much been forbidden to text me abbreviated words. I will nevernevernevernever use the shortened form of ‘laugh out loud’…..I won’t, I won’t, I won’t. It is over used. I don’t care if you use it, I don’t even care if you text it to me….i’m just not going to use it.

That is one of the reasons I decided to blog. Because I wanted to write. I actually do a lot of writing by hand. A good portion of my studying is done at work. It is all hand written, as far as commentary goes, and then I bring it home and type it. I have even started to write my blog posts out. I had been using just a 5×9 spiral notebook to keep stuff in. Messages, study notes, outlines, everything. I have like six or seven full from over the past year. I bought a leather-bound journal to start using. It cost twelve dollars, whereas the notebooks are like three for $1.49. I am truly not so conceited that I feel like future generations are going to care about anything I have ever written. But if something happens and we lose computers, phones, and social networking….are you going to have ANYTHING to show for your life?

I am.

Posted in: Family