What is truth?

Posted on November 5, 2011

4


“Nobody is absolutely right about everything.”

This much we agree on. I KNOW that I am not right about everything. But on that same token, I believe that I am right about everything. If I thought I was wrong in any given area, I would change, until I thought that I was right. The question then becomes, does that make me arrogant? Or does that simple mean I am normal? Let me ask it like this. Where are you wrong? Give me an area, or a subject that you know you are wrong, or you think that you might be wrong. If you can’t do it, or you won’t do it. Then you think you are right about everything…just like I do. Only a fool would say, I think I am wrong, and yet still I refuse to change.

People really have a heyday with Independent Baptists and this whole issue of, “I am right, and you are wrong.” The say, it reveals a complete arrogance, as if Baptist’s, more specifically Independent Baptists, are the only ones in the entire world that have this opinion of their set of their beliefs. Have you ever talked to a Mormon, or Jehovah’s Witness, or a REAL Catholic (as opposed to a christmas and easter catholic). Have you ever talked to a Methodist? Or an atheist for that matter? Everyone thinks that they are right, if the didn’t they would change till they did. So to throw in my face that I am arrogant because I think I am right. It doesn’t bother me. Because whether or not you want to admit it, you think that you are right as well.

“Now we see through a glass darkly, then we shall see face to face.”
The imperfect has yet to put on the perfect.

This is not a correct exegesis of referenced text.

1Co 13:10 But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.
1Co 13:12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

What is this talking about exactly? Is it saying we can never understand things completely, until we get to heaven? Or is it saying that at the time it was written it was ‘darkly’ but that the perfect would come at some point in the future…before the beginning of eternity? Well, what is the preceding context?

1Co 13:9 For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.

The immediate context was predictive prophecy. Anything else you want to say this is referring to is an imposition upon the text. The ‘in part that shall be done away’ is referring to predictive prophecy. (And, the argument as well could be made for it referring to ‘tongues’ as well, but we will save that for another day). So what is the ‘perfect is come’ referring to then. One thing we know that it is not referring to is the Holy Spirit. Why? Because the Holy Spirit had already been given to them, on the day of Pentecost, as was promised by Christ while he was still here on earth. The verses could be multiplied…challenge me, and I will.

Is this ‘perfect’ thing that is coming referring to what we will find out at which point we reach eternity? Therefore we can’t actually KNOW anything till we get to heaven? IF, and it is a big ‘if’, that is true. Here is what we all need to do. Throw you bible out. Lock the church doors. And spend our Sundays watching football and fishing. And our Wednesday nights could be as well spent watching CSI:Miami (or whatever is playing on Wednesday’s). Why? Because we are all just kind of floundering around in our own opinion of what we ought to be doing. If we can’t know anything, we just as likely know nothing. Everyone’s opinion is just as right, and valid, and worthy of being respected. If we can’t know till we get to heaven….everything we are doing is pointless. POINTLESS!!!

As a result, I reject the premise, out of hand! This is referring to the Word of God.  When the word of God is come = that which is perfect is come. We don’t need prophecy any longer, we don’t need tongues any longer. We have the perfect, revealed, complete revelation from God. Which is to be our ONE AND ONLY source of faith and practice. Anything else leads to spiritual anarchy. And ‘every man doing that which is right in his own eyes.’ Of course there are those who disagree with this, because they want everything to be left up to personal preference.

What we now know of God is incomplete, like the mere tip of an iceberg.

On the surface, I agree with this. I however, know what is actually being implied. (It’s kind of like a Catholic telling me they believe in Jesus’ death on the cross, they are using the correct words to make a factually correct statement, but there is more that they are not telling me.) Do I believe that absolutely every last thing that it is possible to know about God is in the Bible, or has been revealed to us. No, of course I don’t believe that. I do believe, however, that we know enough, that we have enough to revealed to us, to be PERFECTLY RIGHT when it comes to our theology and convictions. Do I think most, if any, have arrived at ‘perfectly right,’ no, probably not. But I do think we can be right, as far as our beliefs go, and I also think that there are some people who are more right than others. 

One person has no perfect ability to say that someone else’s personal experience with God is wrong, incorrect, or false. Only God and the individual know that.

Not so.

Ac 8:21 Thou hast neither part nor lot in this matter: for thy heart is not right in the sight of God.

Well I mean if that IS a true statement, somebody needed to tell Peter that. Do you have to have ‘perfect ability’ before you can pass JUDGMENT? Peter didn’t seem to think so. The rest of us can know it too…besides just the individual and God. Read Matthew chapter seven, and more than just verse one. We are encouraged over and over again to pass judgement, on different people and circumstances. And instructed to do so by a God who knew that we would be lacking in ‘perfect ability.’ To claim that one must have ‘perfect ability’ is a logical fallacy fostered by those who never want anything they say or do to be called into question or challenged.

If we instead decided to discuss viewpoints with each other from a positive viewpoint, respecting the other’s belief(s) without believing that our own are absolute, realizing that what is right for one person may not be right for another, I think we will have taken a large step in maturity.

I guess I’m not sure what ‘from a positive viewpoint’ means exactly. Respect is a relative ’emotion’ or belief. I respect you right to have other beliefs. I don’t respect incorrect beliefs. It has nothing to do with liking or respecting the actual person. But I will not place views and beliefs that I see taught against in scripture, on the same level as mine, which are taught BY scripture. Once again, I respect the right of all people to have their own beliefs. In fact, if called upon, I would give my life to protect the freedom of religion, speech, and expression. But, and a big BUT, that does not mean I will sit here and say that the beliefs that I think you have a right to have are just as valid as mine. I do believe that my own set of beliefs is absolute. You may not believe that your set is absolute. But to sit and say, “Caleb your beliefs are not absolute, because I do not believe that mine beliefs are.” It really doesn’t make any sense. It is not an example of maturity to take the position, ‘all of us are right in our own way.’ 

Is that going to happen? I can only hope…

It is probably not going to happen on my part.

Luther, Martin (1483-1546)

“I cannot and will not recant anything, for to go against conscience is neither right nor safe. Here I stand, I can do no other, so help me God. Amen.” (spoken and printed 1521)


