The Pervasiveness of Calvinism……

Posted on March 15, 2012

3


This is not really a post about Calvinism per se. More an update, and quick opinion/review on the books I have recently finished.

The first was The Attributes of God by A. W. Pink. When I picked it up the name was very familiar. So I was curious about what he had to say about this subject that can be handled with a great degree of shallowness. I mentioned to my dad that I was about to start it, and he told me that Pink was a renowned Calvinistic Theologian. So, having spent my fair share of time interacting with Calvinists, I was pretty sure as to what to expect. Chapter one, paragraph three. The Calvinistic theology was off to the races. The problem is chapter one was on the Solitariness of God. My point is, Calvinists only want to talk about one thing. Out of seventeen chapters, fully eight of them are almost entirely devoted to Calvinistic theology. As a result….I didn’t really care for the book. He did have a lot of good things to say, but it was very, very slanted in a way that I don’t agree with.

Secondly….I AM UPSET!!! I finished A Farewell to Arms by Hemingway. I hatedhatedhatedhated it. His books are soooooo stinking sad and depressing. I’m not sure if I’m going to make it to The Old Man and the Sea. I am pretty sure I know what happens in that book. The old man drowns in the sea on the last page. Let me summarize the worthless book that is A Farewell to Arms. This is going to contain a spoiler, so if you don’t want to know what happens, quit reading now. It is the story  of an American ambulance driver in Italy during one of the world wars. He gets wounded. He spends a bunch of time in the hospital. He falls in love with a nurse. The nurse gets pregnant. The man gets trapped behind German lines. The man escapes through the German lines and loses multiple friends in the process. He deserts the Italian army because he is tired of war. He almost gets arrested for deserting. Girl and man escape to Switzerland in a boat. Woman has baby. Baby dies instantly. Woman dies. The end. Words cannot express my frustration for that. I was genuinely saddened when the baby and women died. I hate Hemingway.

Posted in: Uncategorized