Goal Update

Posted on August 11, 2012

1


1. Play Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata, on the piano….at least the first movement. Hopefully all three. The third movement is really pretty, and probably my favorite.

2. Play Beethoven’s 5th Symphony, on the piano….I figure if I can play his moonlight sonata, adding this wont be so very difficult.

3. Play Pachelbel in Canon D, on the guitar….

4. Play Cancion Del Mariachi, on the guitar

I’m not likely going to be able to play any of this by the end of the year, but I am working on playing the piano pretty consistently at this point. The problem is….I didn’t work very much at all over the first six months, making up for lost time now.

5. Compile a harmony of the gospels.

I haven’t made any progress at all this year on this….I still want to….and I still can I suppose.

6. Work on my house….

there is so many things that i can see i havent made an actual list…..80year old house

Still working on my bathroom…..it’s a full-time job just keeping my yard mowed this summer

7. Memorize verses.

Romans chapters 5-8 and the book of Ephesians. Using the following two resources.FighterVerses.com, and this memorizing aid.

Uhhhhh……not so good. I haven’t done well at all on this specific, but I have memorized the following.

Matthew 22:35-40, Hebrews 11:6, I John 3:4, Romans 5:12, II Cor 7:12, Phil 3:10-14, Isaiah 1:18, I Corinthians 2:2-4, I Corinthians 9:19-22, I Corinthians 3:6-9, I Thessalonians 2:19,20,                            Psalms 10:4, John 1:12, Psalms 119:118, Galatians 4:4,5, I John 5:11,12, Luke 1:37, Isaiah 53:1-4, Psalms 126:5,6.
Going to continue and make even more progress over the rest of the year.

8. Read MORE of the bible.

Proverbs 12 times

Read it one time, hope to get in at least five or six more times before the end of the year.

Acts 12 times

Read it twice so far

Psalms 4 times

Entire New Testament 4 times

I am in II Corinthians for the third time through. So I am on pace to succeed.

Entire Old Testament 1 time

I am in Exodus chapter 30 for the second time through the Old Testament….should finish by the end of the year.

9. Start having some level of family devotions

Failure, absolute failure up unto this point.

10. Read two books a month

For Whom the Bells to (Hemingway), Ecclesiastical History (Eusbius), An Introduction to Homiletics’ (Demaray), The Life of Paul’ (Meyer), The Lonely Crowd’ (Riesman), A Farewell to Arms’ (Hemingway), The Life of David (Meyer), The power of the cross of Christ (spurgeon), Words on target (Nichols), Be Intolerant (Dobson), Fools Gold (Maccarthur), The Faith of Barak Obama, This Present Darkness (Peretti), Preaching the Word with Authority – (Schroeder), Principles and Practices of Baptist Churches (Hiscox), Above All Earthly Power, Christ in a Postmodern World (Wells)

Those books I have finished

The Soviet Tragedy – Page 30

No Place for Truth; Whatever happened to Evangelical Theology – Page 50

Kingdom of the Cults – Page 50

The Two Babylon’s – Page 15

What A Way to Live – Page 30

I have read 16 books, working on five books. I have slacked off over the last month or so. However I have replaced some of my reading time with listening time. I have been listening to audio sermons for the last month or so.

Lessons from the Burning Bush; Nothing to Hard for Thee; A Church on the Move; That I Might by all Means Save Some; One Thing is Needful; You Can Still Rely on God; It’s Time to Climb;  Make Up Your Mind; Did You Leave Jesus Hanging; Kiss the Son, Get a Life, Are You A Worship Leader, The Eye of the Kingdom Servant, The Lord is our Helper, Being a Man that God can Trust, Don’t Get Caught Up in Stuff, The Lord is My Helper, Don’t Miss What God Has for You, Where is Phineas, Serve the Lord with Gladness, They Went and Hid it, Finding your Simon, Don’t Get Played by the Devil, The Law and Love, Remember Now Thy Creator, The Lord is in this Place, Were it not for Grace, There is Nothing Back in Egypt For You, Taking God Seriously, Remember Where you Came From, Thankful For Great Women, Serve God Without Compromise, Speak Lord I’m Listening, Make Up Your Mind, Let it Rain.

All of those by Bro. Kenny Baldwin

Why Ephraim Failed, Faint Yet Pursuing, Are You A Thermostat or Thermometer

By Bro. Lou Baldwin

Application Denied, It’s Time to Cross Over, Bringing Unity to the Local Church, How to be Unstoppable, Trouble Don’t Always Last

By Bro. Michael Baldwin

So….can I get a pass on slacking up on my reading over the last month?

11. Three blog posts a week.

Giving me over 150 quality posts for the year. To bring this about it will likely entail blogging about my Sunday School Lessons and Wednesday night messages. That will be two of them, leaving only one per week of something else, which will be a challenge in and of itself

Failure….just no other way to cut it….

12. Run a 5k in less than 28 minutes

13. Be able to run a marathon by September

I want to run a marathon in Alaska with my sister-in-law Angela in September. Thats what I am working for.

What was I thinking when I put these….

14. At least one SERIOUS workout per week.

It was non-existent for the first couple of months

Then it was three days a week, then it was two days a week, then it was one day a week….and now it is….well, can you see the trend…..

15. Hand copy the entire book of Proverbs into a Journal

I have made it to chapter seven….I’d better get a move on if I am going to finish.

So, as I suspected might be the case, I have some success. I have some failures. And as always, I have some areas that need improvement.

What about you…..where are you at on everything you committed to doing this year.

Posted in: Uncategorized